Sacrifice

“When the silence isn’t quiet
And it feels like it’s getting hard to breathe
And I know you feel like dying
But I promise we’ll take the world to its feet”                    – Andra Day

 

Rise Up, these are the words of this song by Andra Day. The plot of the whole music video is that a man is paralyzed from neck down and can’t do anything by himself. Just like Stephen Hawking’s state. In this video you see his girlfriend taking care of this man. Taking care of all his needs.

Today my question is can you love somebody so much that you sacrifice your whole life?

What encourages you to sacrifice ‘everything a little easier’ in life?

Even in the case of Stephen Hawking his wife took care of the brilliant human till he drove her away. She stood by him and took care of every need of his. How? Why?

Is love that strong? Can love make you do things that seem impossible or rather things that include such a big sacrifice?

If that is possible then what is my generation doing?

We millennial are deprived of the real sense of love. I can’t commit to take care of a fish or an unable pet.

And there are some people taking care of their spouses just because they love them. I don’t understand. It’s difficult me to comprehend to lose all my life taking care of someone without it being an obligation. It’s difficult for me to fathom that someone would chuck their life on a side burner just to cook someone else’s broth and that to not for one day but for their whole lives.

Is it Naïve? Or it’s just that I’m too young to understand it. Will I understand this concept of Sacrifice when I’m old enough to at least get the jest of the topic called “love”?

Sacrificing the only one thing that god gave you, your “life” for someone else because you love them seem bizarre to me.

Maybe one day I’ll understand. Waiting for that day.

Leave a Reply

